ZModeler3 suggestions/wishes

ZModeler2-related discussion. General questions, howto, etc.

Moderators: Oleg, _RicH_

ZModeler3 suggestions/wishes

Postby Cessna tomtom » Sun Jul 04, 2010 6:48 am

Hello oleg,

I know that Zmodeler 3 is FAR away.. But what will be the BIG advantage in it that you are hoping for?

For example.. Zmodeler series 1 did not support Quads.. But Zmodeler series 2 does..That was a huge jump, Will there be any "Big jump" like this in Zmodeler series 3?
User avatar
Cessna tomtom
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 2:56 pm

Postby EmsterFan » Sun Jul 04, 2010 1:56 pm

maybe some proper render-tools?
dunno, just saying
EmsterFan
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 3:41 am

Postby Cessna tomtom » Sun Jul 04, 2010 3:21 pm

hmm, that would be cool, but i have learned to render with other programs now.. a nice GUI would be awesome
User avatar
Cessna tomtom
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 2:56 pm

Postby Oleg » Sun Jul 04, 2010 8:47 pm

yup. GUI upgrade is under consideration.
User avatar
Oleg
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7638
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 3:54 am

Postby Stew2000 » Tue Jul 06, 2010 9:32 am

I don't really need render tools in Zmod. maybe just reflections that reflect the mesh.
User avatar
Stew2000
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2005 3:07 am
Location: East Sussex, UK

Postby soldierman » Thu Jul 15, 2010 10:35 am

_RicH_ wrote:
would be nice to have something to generate UV maps automaticly somehow, especially when games like GTAIV need the whole body mapped to work correctly.


Yeah, it detects [prim] and or [sec] (user input), and generates a JPG, GIF, DDS, TGA, or JPG file with the wire of the prim material, and if it has a bad map tho, your stuck, so you have to make it by yourself, which usually takes really long

Thats it
soldierman
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 3:29 am

Postby _RicH_ » Fri Jul 16, 2010 1:03 am

when i said that, I meant a tool to 'unwrap' the mesh to generate UV map.

Maybe it could work as follows:

Imagine a sphere shaped object covering the whole mesh

the faces from the mesh are 'projected' on to the sphere (all detatched faces are done seperatly)

the sphere is then unwrapped.

Maybe I'm just being really crazy lol
_RicH_
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 7:34 am
Location: UK

Postby Angus94 » Tue Aug 31, 2010 3:47 pm

what about the ability to map without detaching the selected polygons from the mesh.
DragFactor - world's first dedicated drag mod for rfactor
User avatar
Angus94
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 7:02 pm
Location: Victoria, Australia.

Postby Chasez » Tue Aug 31, 2010 6:21 pm

Angus94 wrote:what about the ability to map without detaching the selected polygons from the mesh.


lol. isn't it already possible?
User avatar
Chasez
Beginner
 
Posts: 249
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2009 12:34 am

Postby _RicH_ » Wed Sep 01, 2010 2:04 am

I guess he means like the old zmodeler way, in zmod 2 to have 2 areas with a different texture they have to be detached.
_RicH_
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 7:34 am
Location: UK

Postby EmsterFan » Wed Sep 01, 2010 6:38 am

i'd love to have a better weld-tool, which doesnt fuck the mapping up
EmsterFan
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 3:41 am

Postby _RicH_ » Wed Sep 01, 2010 7:06 am

probably related to what I said above :)
_RicH_
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 7:34 am
Location: UK

Postby Oleg » Wed Sep 01, 2010 7:07 am

weld of vertices will mess uv mapping. Consider using Surface\Normals\Smooth instead.
User avatar
Oleg
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7638
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 3:54 am

Postby Stew2000 » Wed Sep 01, 2010 7:39 am

Smoothing doesn't work when exporting Oleg. the normals get reset.
User avatar
Stew2000
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2005 3:07 am
Location: East Sussex, UK

Postby Oleg » Wed Sep 01, 2010 8:23 am

when exporting what? zmodeler-generated normals are always respected on export.
User avatar
Oleg
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7638
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 3:54 am

Postby Richard » Thu Sep 02, 2010 5:39 am

Zmodeler 3, I didn't even realise that that was in consideration. I haven't even left ZMod 1 :D

In the end I'm no full time 3D modeler.
User avatar
Richard
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2004 4:04 am
Location: England

Postby dragracer » Sat Sep 04, 2010 6:52 am

a bit better rendering engine would be better because sometimes it's hard to pick out details in the 3D view.
dragracer
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 5:49 am

Postby Reinhard » Sun Sep 05, 2010 1:23 am

dragracer wrote:a bit better rendering engine would be better because sometimes it's hard to pick out details in the 3D view.


Well, I wouldn't say "better". But it would be nice if it was possible to change contrast, or the gamma value. To enhance visibility, with some models.

Sure, I can change these values for the whole desktop, but I really don't like that.

BTW: Zmodeler 2 seems to have had a start in 2004, at least I saw an announcement of a preview, dated so.

When did the whole Zanoza story began?
User avatar
Reinhard
Beginner
 
Posts: 271
Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2009 10:38 am
Location: Berlin, Germany

Postby Oleg » Sun Sep 05, 2010 3:39 am

I can't remember exact date, but I think it was something around summer'1999.
User avatar
Oleg
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7638
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 3:54 am

Postby Reinhard » Sun Sep 05, 2010 5:15 am

Wow, eleven years!

I'll take your thoughts regarding version 3 as a sign you don't regret it, all the time. :)
User avatar
Reinhard
Beginner
 
Posts: 271
Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2009 10:38 am
Location: Berlin, Germany

Postby Cessna tomtom » Fri Sep 10, 2010 2:31 pm

In version three i would like to see a new GUI for sure.. i wouldnt mind seeing more file 'big' file types like .max supported, possible animation?
User avatar
Cessna tomtom
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 2:56 pm

Postby Oleg » Fri Sep 10, 2010 9:37 pm

what kind of GUI improvement would you like to see?

2 all: which gui or workflow considerations you don't like in zmod2, wich worth to be made in other fasion?
User avatar
Oleg
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7638
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 3:54 am

Postby Stew2000 » Sat Sep 11, 2010 12:21 am

I like Zmod2 GUI as it is.
But a more updated look would be better. like what you did with the check boxes.
User avatar
Stew2000
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2005 3:07 am
Location: East Sussex, UK

Postby smokey8808 » Sat Sep 11, 2010 1:34 am

1. the material editor bug.materials will disapear unless you hover with mouse over them. not sure whats causing this.

2. this happened several times: i click show all. switch to vertices mode. select all vertices. if i will now go to properties, for example to check the vertices count of all meshes; and click ok; all my materials will get fu**ed up for some reason. perfoming an undo step fixes them again though.

3. which goes with 2: an easier way to get poly/vertices count of the current scene.

4. the undo function sometimes will just quit working, mostly when u work on a scene for a long time. this isnt too dramatic since you can let zm create autosaves, but it does get annoying.


apart from that stuff i have to say the GUI is pretty decent and easy to use. zmodeler itself is quite powerful; its impressive what you can do with such a rather small programm.

just some thoughts as i saw your last post here oleg, lol.

greetings
smokey8808
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2009 12:25 pm

Postby _RicH_ » Sat Sep 11, 2010 1:38 am

The only thing i think needs improving is the object list.

It needs dedicated move up/down buttons for objects, and "collapse all" / "expand all" options somewhere.
_RicH_
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 7:34 am
Location: UK

Next

Return to ZModeler2 General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests