[V to IV] zmod2 Import obj exported from zmod3

GTA San Andreas and GTA Vice City discussion.

Moderators: Oleg, _RicH_

[V to IV] zmod2 Import obj exported from zmod3

Postby firstmada » Thu Sep 22, 2016 5:27 am

hi,
I have a model that was imported from zmodeleler3. I imported the model as yft file and then clicked L0 on the bar on the right which showed the model instead of just dummies and then I clicked export then saved the file as an obj I then went to zmod2 and clicked import and 1. it takes about 2 minutes to import and 2. once it imported the model was squashed into a ball instead of being in the correct shape any ideas how to import it correctly so that I can continue the conversion?
firstmada
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2015 7:46 am

Re: [V to IV] zmod2 Import obj exported from zmod3

Postby Oleg » Thu Sep 22, 2016 7:05 am

you should probably dismiss hierarchy in zmodeler3 and leave geometry parts only; then save as .z3d file;

- open your .z3d file
- press show all in the bottom of hierarchy view
- select all parts;

1. untick the first part in hierarchy (to hide it)
2. delete all other parts, tick the only part left (just one object in hierarchy now)
3. export as obj (just one part per single obj file);
4. undo (show), undo (delete), undo(hide)
5. repeat 1-4 with the rest if oarts
User avatar
Oleg
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7451
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 3:54 am

Re: [V to IV] zmod2 Import obj exported from zmod3

Postby Automan » Thu Sep 22, 2016 10:39 pm

Note: GTA V has the UV-mapping of the decals/livery on channel 2.
Saving in .obj format the 3D has only channel 1.
User avatar
Automan
Beginner
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2007 1:27 pm
Location: Italy

Re: [V to IV] zmod2 Import obj exported from zmod3

Postby Oleg » Fri Sep 23, 2016 3:46 am

on the other side, you can just save .z3d file and tick a "version 2.x" option in Save window.
User avatar
Oleg
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7451
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 3:54 am

Re: [V to IV] zmod2 Import obj exported from zmod3

Postby firstmada » Mon Oct 03, 2016 9:50 am

sorry for late reply but I ticked zmodeller 2 compatible on the save window and it gives errors about unsuitable compound for conversion or something like that I did not understand what you mean about dismissing hierarchy and leave geometry parts only is there anyway to get around the error when saving the z3d file so it is compatible In zmod 2
firstmada
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2015 7:46 am

Re: [V to IV] zmod2 Import obj exported from zmod3

Postby Oleg » Mon Oct 03, 2016 10:43 am

select bold object in hierarchy view and press "Dismiss" on "Structure" panel. Do this on all bold object names.
User avatar
Oleg
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7451
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 3:54 am


Return to Grand Theft Auto

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest